

## May 2014

## IACLE raises its profile at European events

## IACLE played a prominent role in this month's Warsaw 2014 event in Poland, just one of several recent events around Europe to host Members' Meetings

More than 270 delegates from 36 countries attended the annual conference of the European Academy of Optometry and Optics (EAOO) in Warsaw, Poland from 15th to 18th May. Held jointly with the European Council of Optometry and Optics' (ECOO) spring meeting, this year's conference was hosted by the Polish Optometric Association.



Several IACLE members and Fellows featured on the EAOO programme. FIACLE **Stefan Bandlitz** of the Höhere Fachschule für Augenoptik Köln in Germany was one of two keynote speakers, delivering a lecture on 'The anterior eye and tear film'. He reviewed advances in tear film assessment, including a new slit-lamp mounted digital meniscometer (*Optom Vis Sci* 2014;91:1 e1-8). Click <u>here</u> to learn more.

FIACLES **Caroline Christie** (UK) and IACLE President **Dr Shehzad Naroo** (UK) gave a clinical presentation on the use of grading scales in anterior eye record-keeping, Dr Naroo also lectured on caring for the ageing eye and IACLE member **Jo Underwood** (UK) spoke on developments in spectacle lens technology.

Clinical workshops were held at Warsaw University where presenters included FIACLEs **Nick Rumney** (UK) and **Helmer Schweizer** (Switzerland). Poster presentations included two from FIACLE

**Professor Abbas Ali Yekta** of Mashhad University of Medical Sciences in Iran (pictured right), looking at the prevalence of high myopia among students at his university, and at the prevalence of keratoconus and its associated factors in Iran.





IACLE meeting alongside their international optometry conference. Helmer Schweizer paid tribute to Judith Morris for her excellent work on the European Contact Lens Forum, one of the positive influences IACLE has in Europe. Members **Professor Andrea Müller-Treiber** (Switzerland), **David Berkow** (Israel) and **Dr Kamlesh Chauhan** (UK) also took part in the discussion.



Five EAOO members were awarded Academy Fellowship at the Warsaw meeting, in recognition of their contribution to optometry or optics at a local, national or international level. EAOO President Professor Paul Murphy (far left) is pictured with new Fellows (I-r) Dr Simon Barnard (UK), Dr Einat Shneor (Israel), Dr Annemieke Coops (Netherlands), Dr Helder Bértolo (Portugal) and Professor Roger Anderson (UK).



Three conference prizes were awarded: Monika Wojtczak (Poland) - New Researcher Prize; Dr Elena Cannavò (Italy) - Poster Presentation Prize; and Catriona Barrett (Ireland) - Outstanding Contribution Prize. Catriona (pictured) is assistant lecturer in optometry at Dublin Institute of Technology. She received her prize from Dr Murphy of the University of Waterloo, Canada.

For more details of the European Academy and presentations from Warsaw 2014, visit <u>www.eaoo.info</u>.

• The next EAOO conference will be held in Budapest, Hungary from 14<sup>th</sup> to 17<sup>th</sup> May 2015.