



IACLE makes its mark at largest ever Academy meeting

IACLE members and Fellows were involved throughout the program at Academy 2018 in San Antonio, Texas, USA, where the association also held a Strategic Planning Meeting and its Annual General Meeting. Alison Ewbank reports on a very successful event for IACLE



IACLE Board, staff, members, Fellows and industry heard a review of IACLE activities in 2017 at the Annual General Meeting held to coincide with Academy 2018

With almost 8,000 attendees, Academy 2018 San Antonio (7-10 November) was the largest in the 97 years of the American Academy of Optometry's annual meeting.

Registrants included 4,625 optometrists and vision scientists, and 1,168 students. Attendees engaged in continuing education sessions, experienced new products and technologies in the exhibit hall, and learned about the latest in vision research.

Key themes this year were around the future for patient care, with developments such as new imaging techniques and the use of augmented reality for clinical assessment and education. In the contact lens field, the most prominent new product was the first photochromic contact lens, Acuvue Oasys with Transitions Light Intelligent Technology, available from 2019 and recently chosen as one of *Time* magazine's Best Inventions of 2018.

In education, the Brien Holden Vision Institute launched its Global Myopia Centre, an online resource for eye care practitioners to be headed by **Professor Padmaja Sankaridurg**. Another familiar name in the contact lens field, dry eye specialist **Dr Barbara Caffery**, was inducted as the new President of the Academy for 2019-2020. And the Glenn A Fry Lecture Award was presented to **Professor Fiona Stapleton** of the University of New South Wales, Australia.

IACLE had a strong presence at this year's meeting and throughout the program. Here's a photo round-up of some of the key events in which our members and Fellows were involved:









FIACLE **Professor Helen Swarbrick**, also from the University of New South Wales, received the Max Shapero Memorial Lecture Award from the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies. Helen is pictured (center) with Section Chair **Dr Clarke Newman** (right) and Program Chair **Dr Loretta Szczotka-Flynn**.

Helen trained at the University of Auckland, New Zealand and her career in contact lens research and education has spanned 40 years. She acknowledged her many research collaborators during that time.

IACLE Vice President **Professor Philip Morgan** took part in a session entitled 'Celebrating 20 years of silicone hydrogels: past, present and future', standing in for FIACLE **Professor Lyndon Jones**, IACLE Americas Contact Lens Educator of the Year 2018, who was unable to attend.

Phil is pictured with his co-presenters for the session (left to right) FIACLE **Karen Walsh, Dr Doerte Luensmann** and **Jill Woods**, all from the University of Waterloo, Canada.

During the poster sessions, IACLE President **Dr Shehzad Naroo**, joined FIACLE **Mera Haddad** to discuss her poster with **May Bakkar** of the Jordan University of Science and Technology on the assessment of dry eye parameters among waterpipe smokers. Shehzad met with (left to right) **Khawlah Alfaiti** of Pacific University Oregon, USA, Mera and **Mashaaer Baashen** of Aston University, UK.

IACLE Treasurer **Dr Etty Bitton** (below left) and FIACLE **Sebastian Marx** of the University of Applied Sciences in Jena, Germany between them had eight presentations accepted in the Academy poster sessions. Etty and Sebastian are pictured with his poster on meibomian gland assessment.

IACLE members and Fellows also involved in the Academy program included **Professor Jan Bergmanson, Eyal Gal,** FIACLE **Dr Kate Gifford,** FIACLE **Dr Lacey Haines** and **Professor Paul Murphy.**

The program and abstracts are available via the Academy.18 Meeting App <u>here</u>.



IACLE held a full day's Strategic Planning Meetings to coincide with Academy 2018. Among the topics discussed were the results of the 2018 Membership Survey, new resources to be introduced over the next five years, and the roles and responsibilities of Executive Board members.

The meeting was led by President **Dr Shehzad Naroo** and Vice President **Professor Philip Morgan** (pictured), and facilitated by **Aimee Lewis** of McDougall Communications



IACLE staff and board met for an informal dinner after the Strategic Planning Meeting. They were joined by **Aimee Lewis, Mike McDougall** and a former European Regional President of IACLE **Professor Michel Guillon**.

One of the highlights of Academy 2018 for IACLE was the presentation of the **2018 IACLE Contact Lens Educators of the Year** and **IACLE Travel Awards** at an International Reception on 9 November. The reception was sponsored by CooperVision, sponsor of the Educator awards which were presented by **Marcella**

McParland, the company's Director of Professional Services EMEA. AAO Past President **Dr Brett G Bence** and World Council of Optometry President **Dr Scott Mundle** opened the ceremony. Dr Bence said that 25 of the new Academy Fellows were from outside the US, from 10 different countries. International attendance made up 8-10% of Academy attendees.

Delegates from around the world were invited to attend the reception. Pictured below are (left) IACLE Travel Award winner **Professor Martha Lucila Márquez García**, from Santo Tomás University, Bucaramanga, Colombia, with LA delegates, including Americas Regional Coordinator Guillermo Carrillo (far left). IACLE Asia Pacific Contact Lens Educator of the Year **Associate Professor Runa Mazumder** (right, center) was congratulated by Indian colleagues including IACLE's Director of Global Education **Dr Lakshmi Shinde** and Director of Educational Programs, **Nilesh Thite**.



• Orange County Convention Center, Orlando, Florida will be the venue for Academy 2019 and the 3rd World Congress of Optometry from 23-28 October.