

## IACLE announces worldwide winners of annual awards

Contact lens educators from Canada, India, the Netherlands, Colombia, Lebanon and Argentina are to receive prestigious awards from IACLE. And this year there are more awards than ever before.

IACLE has today announced the full line-up of winners of the 2018 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards to recognize and reward achievement in contact lens education, and the 2018 IACLE Travel Awards for members to attend major international meetings.

Thanks to generous sponsorship from CooperVision, four IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards will be presented, to IACLE members in each of IACLE's three global regions. This year, for the first time, two educators in the Europe / Africa – Middle East region will jointly receive an award. And three IACLE Travel Awards – funded by all IACLE's industry sponsors – will be presented, rather than just one in previous years.

Recipients of the 2018 IACLE Awards each receive a bursary of **up to US\$3,000** towards the cost of attending a major international meeting during 2018 and a certificate to mark the award, to be presented at the conference attended.

The 2018 IACLE Contact Lens Educators of the Year will receive their awards at the American Academy of Optometry's **Academy 2018** meeting in San Antonio, Texas, USA in November.

And the winners are:



IACLE Americas Contact Lens Educator of the Year
Professor Lyndon Jones

University of Waterloo, Canada



IACLE Asia Pacific Contact Lens Educator of the Year
Associate Professor Runa Mazumder

Vidyasagar College of Optometry & Vision Science, Kolkata, India



IACLE Europe / Africa – Middle East Contact Lens Educators of the Year

Wim Borst (left) Deltion College, Zwollen, the Netherlands

Henri Eek (right) Deltion College and Hogeschool Utrecht, the Netherlands

The 2018 IACLE Travel Awards recipients and the meetings they will attend are:



Professor Martha Lucila Márquez García

Santo Tomás University, Bucaramanga, Colombia

Academy 2018 in San Antonio, Texas, USA

November 2018



**Ahmed Sherry** 

Modern University for Business and Science, Beirut, Lebanon

Association of Optometric Contact Lens Educators' Annual Workshop, San Antonio, Texas, USA (Thanks to additional support from AOCLE).

May/June 2018



**Professor Sabrina Lara** 

Universidad Nacional Villa Maria in Córdoba, Argentina

FEDOPTO Congress in Barranquilla, Colombia

August 2018

On the announcement of his award, **Professor Lyndon Jones** said: 'Founded almost 40 years ago, IACLE continues to fulfil its mandate of providing cutting edge, contemporary education on contact lenses to contact lens educators around the globe. The vast majority of contact lens clinicians globally have been trained in some way by an IACLE-affiliated educator and without IACLE, and the resources it provides to educators, there is no doubt in my mind that contact lens practice would be behind where it is today. I am absolutely delighted to be given this award and I thank IACLE for its continued dedication to training the contact lens clinicians of tomorrow.'

IACLE President **Dr Shehzad Naroo** commented: 'This year we have more IACLE Awards winners travelling to more meetings than ever before. A huge congratulations to our winners and thank you to our sponsors and collaborators who make this happen. IACLE members should get ready to nominate themselves or be nominated next year.'

'We wholeheartedly congratulate the 2018 Educators of the Year for the well-deserved recognition of their commitment to the advancement of contact lens professionals around the world,' said **Dr Gary Orsborn**, Vice President of Global Professional & Clinical Affairs for CooperVision. 'We are thrilled to continue our long-standing partnership with IACLE on this program, for the honorees and their work continue to be an inspiration to all of us at CooperVision.